South Street

The month of Ramadan is as much about food as it is about religion. The main crux behind fasting is praying and sacrifice and experiencing oneness with God. And all that does happen! But when you stay hungry for the whole day, your taste buds do their act and make you dream about all sorts of yummy food that you have ever had. Lucky thing about being in Saudi Arabia is that the whole city opens up at night, when you can actually have some fun and give in to your cravings.

After a very usual fasting day, I had to strongest urge to eat some spicy, cheesy, fried, unhealthy stuff (I love unhealthy stuff!). So we decided to go to South Street.

I have kept two menu cards side-by-side to give you an idea about the metal sheets :P!

South Street is located right at the end of Prince Sultan Street just before the traffic light. The only issue is that of parking. Probably why it isn’t quite as full as you expect it to be. There is limited parking available in front of the complex. The décor in the Family section is quite simplified and open. It sort of lets you give your complete attention to food! The menu is printed on a rectangle sheet of metal! Fascinating, huh?

We ordered a Dark Mojito, Jalapeno Poppers, Chicken Wings and French Fries. All this just for me, since T wasn’t that hungry (You should take me to an All-you-can-eat Buffet and see me eat!). My cravings are always very specific. Well, no exaggeration, but South Street truly serves the best Buffalo wings I have ever had in Jeddah! And trust me, I have tried quite a lot of places. The wings were so crispy and the Buffalo Sauce was just the right degree of spicy. The Jalapeno Poppers were like biting into cheesy heaven! And the Fries, the unhealthiest, yummiest, most addictive snack of all times, had a lovely crisp to it. And it was all served with a secret South Street Sauce in tiny jars. Although it does break my heart to see such good food go unappreciated since both the times that we went there, it was quite empty.

A must have is Francesco Sandwich and South Street Burger. We tried it the last time we went and the taste is still lingering in my mouth! I am not a fan of burger joints, but this one was truly exceptional.

I came out of there with a full tummy and a big smile on my face. We are definitely going to go there again.

 

Late night cravings satisfied – Check.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

